Photo

Anyone Invest their Money?

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 willy101

willy101
  • 337 posts

Posted 19 February 2013 - 02:25 PM

I started picking stocks about a year ago. Made a lot off of seagate and blizzard after earnings, got crushed by apple after the up and down swing :(

how about you?

#2 Hydrogen

Hydrogen
  • Neocodex Co-Founder

• 22213 posts

Users Awards

Posted 19 February 2013 - 03:25 PM

Yes, I've been investing since I was 19 years old. Six years later, I still can't say I know what I'm doing :p. Yes, I've made some money from it. But I've also lost some too.

I'm in the same boat with apple. There's actually a pretty interesting course on coursera starting in a couple days on computational investing. I'm going to be taking it.

#3 Dazz

Dazz
  • Musicyclopedia

• 3242 posts

Users Awards

Posted 19 February 2013 - 03:32 PM

I don't invest but back when i used to do business studies we played on a site called BullBearings. It's basically a stock market game if you feel like investing in shit without using real money

#4 ShadowLink64

ShadowLink64
  • 16735 posts

Users Awards

Posted 19 February 2013 - 06:19 PM

Been investing since 19 as well. I got lucky with some stocks and not lucky with others (net gain though :p).

I am trying to decide what to invest in this year. I might just buy some short-term bonds (not long-term, since I figure interest rates have to rise eventually). Still figuring it all out.

#5 Random

Random
  • 8199 posts

Users Awards

Posted 19 February 2013 - 09:45 PM

I have investments in stocks, but mostly long term holdings (planning on keeping for 5+ years.)

I make my higher yield investments from investing in local and online businesses or funding things like that.

#6 redlion

redlion
  • I don't exist!

• 12072 posts

Users Awards

Posted 19 February 2013 - 10:53 PM