Quantcast

Photo

Is there a robust and well developed alternative to Neopets?

• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 leptooners

leptooners
  • 143 posts

Posted 25 January 2015 - 11:06 AM

I'm a developer. I dabble in all sorts of languages but I work primarily in C# and VB.NET. So when I look at Neopets, I see nothing short of a technological marvel. My question is, is there another web-based pet game similar to Neopets? Through Google, I've only been able to partially answer that question, there may be a robust but vastly under marketed game that I just haven't been able to find in the first few pages of Google for popular keywords. MaraPets and Subeta are simplistic in comparison to Neopets. They haven't been given as much attention to detail and flow as Neopets has. The flow of Neopets is unmatched as far as I can tell.

So, does this Neopets equivalent exist or am I going to have to build her? I've been looking for a new project to sink my teeth into and a Neopets-like browser-based game might be interesting.

Edited by leptooners, 25 January 2015 - 11:10 AM.

#2 KaibaSama

KaibaSama
  • Weeaboo

• 5640 posts

Users Awards

Posted 25 January 2015 - 11:16 AM

I don't know if Flight Rising would be considered similar. 

Here's some similarities i can think of:

1. FR Coliseum (sort of like Neo BD)

2. Take care of Dragons (sort of like neopets, but you can have up to 99 of them)

3. forums
4. Scheduled Events (flight festivals), (sort of like the annual neo events like AC, not in what they are, but that both sites have scheduled events)

5. AH (FR's is more like a user shop that's on a time limit though)

6. Dress up Dragons (like neopets) 

8. FR Familiars (sort of like petpets)

9. Transferring dragons to other players (like transferring with the neopets pound)

I think that's all I can think of right now. They're not very large similarities though. 

#3 Swar

Swar
  • retired cheater

• 9280 posts

Users Awards