• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 redlion

redlion
  • I don't exist!

• 12072 posts

Users Awards

Posted 19 September 2015 - 11:06 PM

Anyone play Pathfinder? Or Dungeons and Dragons 3.5?

I played a small campaign with some friends a few years ago. I liked the form combat took, and the way it wasn't so ...D&Dish. But it was similar enough that my previous experience with D&D helped quite a lot.

I've been talking with some friends about starting a group, but only one or two have any tabletop experience, and none can DM. So that leaves me. I've got a basic plot for the campaign, and I've planned the first few encounters, but beyond that I'm basically at a loss.

Any advice from other DMs?

#2 Nymh

Nymh
  • Keeper of Secrets

• 4626 posts

Users Awards

Posted 20 September 2015 - 12:20 PM

Disclaimer: I have little experience (but not no experience) running tabletop games, but I have tons of experience hosting, organizing groups and playing.  My advice for starting out:

Know your hook (or hooks) but don't force your adventurers to follow them.   Let the adventurers guide you instead of the other way around.  You don't want a campaign to be like a puzzle that they have to figure out.  That makes it more like a board game, with a specific end point that they are supposed to work for.  It's much more fulfilling (for you as well as the group) to allow them to shape the story itself with their actions.  Could they waste a couple of sessions chasing a false lead only to finally figure out they were going in the wrong direction?  Maybe.  But Something Else could happen because of where they're focusing their attention, which could bring them back to the main storyline, or to make a storyline out of what they're doing that you hadn't anticipated.