WTF is HTML5 ??

• Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 chobitz

chobitz
  • 988 posts

Users Awards

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:50 PM

My husband is buying an IPad and Jobs hates Adobe programs(no java/flash allowed!). IPad uses HTML5 instead of flash/java. Is it the same thing and why haven't I've seen it used on web pages. Or maybe I did and didn't know it?

I'm not a programmer so please explain in plain English what is the difference between flash/java and HTML5?

#2 Noitidart

Noitidart
  • Neocodex Co-Founder

• 23214 posts

Users Awards

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:54 PM

HTML5 is absolutely amazing!! I never knew it was a replacement for flash though O_o...
But with html5 you can do awesome stuff like the facebook chat on page that doesnt close even when you change a page. Kweh is your man here.

Channel knows a lot about it too! Haven't talked to him much about the subject though.

#3 Guest_jcrgirl_*

Guest_jcrgirl_*

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:55 PM

Umm its a new HTML upgrade that is being innovated to reduce the need for Flash/Silverlight and Java apparently xD
I don't like how Mac is steering this to be more convenient for their pussy iPad <_<

#4 StefanKai

StefanKai
  • 375 posts

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:57 PM

It's magnificent. Some Youtube videos are now in HTML5.

#5 chobitz

chobitz
  • 988 posts

Users Awards

Posted 18 May 2010 - 06:00 PM

Umm its a new HTML upgrade that is being innovated to reduce the need for Flash/Silverlight and Java apparently xD
I don't like how Mac is steering this to be more convenient for their pussy iPad Posted Image

I kinda like the IPad, but yeah it is pussified LOL
What pisss me off is sites like Hulu won't be usable on the IPad because it doesn't use html5.

Anyone know a site using it already?

#6 Noitidart

Noitidart
  • Neocodex Co-Founder

• 23214 posts

Users Awards

Posted 18 May 2010 - 06:05 PM

I thought youtube had an html5 compatible player.

#7 artificial

artificial
  • 186 posts

Users Awards