19 replies to this topic

#1 redlion

redlion
  • I don't exist!

• 12072 posts

Users Awards

Posted 10 March 2010 - 06:57 PM

Who likes it?

I'm studying French this semester and my comprehension skills didn't match par until I got into the culture a bit. Watching French movies or American movies in French helps with dialogue, or what I need to know to speak to someone. After all, the point of studying a language is to be able to understand others, and to make oneself understood.

Some of my favorite French films are:

Le fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain IMDB
Which is about a girl isolated by circumstance. Its done in a really cool style, very chotchky. Great character arcs. Plot couldn't be more archetypal.

L'armée des ombres IMDB
This one is about the French Resistance during WWII. Sort of existential, but a good drama. Dialogue that is easy to catch, but with complex subtext that makes things more interesting.

Anyway, is anyone a fan of foreign media? List a few of your favorite foreign flicks if you've got the time.

#2 Mr. Hobo

Mr. Hobo
  • 8152 posts

Users Awards

Posted 10 March 2010 - 07:25 PM

Assuming by foreign media you don't mean American films :p.

Die Welle - Germany (wish I knew about the book before I saw the movie). Movie about a teacher who starts a project emulating the nazi movement
Some french movie about a kid at an orphanage (good movie but the name escapes me :p. great ending)
Che Part One - france spain and usa (still having gotten around to seeing the second part. I keep missing the first like 20 minutes on the documentary channel, bleh name should be enough of a description)
Trainspotting (or by foreign do you mean non-english?, hmm)

#3 Salamanda

Salamanda
  • 1000 posts

Users Awards

Posted 10 March 2010 - 08:54 PM

OOH.
Joyeux Noel and Les Choristes are really good french movies.

#4 redlion

redlion
  • I don't exist!

• 12072 posts

Users Awards

Posted 10 March 2010 - 09:56 PM