Photo

Fully Public Programs

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
18 replies to this topic

#1 Shadow

Shadow
  • 263 posts

Posted 03 January 2006 - 06:38 PM

That way people who dont want to release programs with Codex check can release.
I want to release some of mine.. but dont really want to implement the Codex Check due to not being a programmer here.

#2 Gargar

Gargar
  • 4901 posts

Posted 03 January 2006 - 06:48 PM

You dont need to be a programer to put the checks on 0_o

#3 Shadow

Shadow
  • 263 posts

Posted 03 January 2006 - 06:51 PM

I know that.. I am a programmer. -.-
So once installed it checks for all programs that are in the list?

#4 Guest_Xth Cannon_*

Guest_Xth Cannon_*

Posted 03 January 2006 - 08:50 PM

It takes two seconds to apply the codex checks to your program.

#5 Mumei

Mumei
  • 3545 posts

Posted 03 January 2006 - 09:16 PM

The codex check is a tool to help the programmers here

it is constantly being enhanced to provide things the programmers are wanting

currently it allows the programmers to make sure only codexians use their programs

it collects data the programmer has setup on the codex website - so a program can accept dynamic data, and the programmer can update this data centrally and have it distrabuted automatically

it allows the programmers to send user specific data, so you can set-up different permissions based on your codexian rank (or by userID if you wish)

it will pass a userdefined Live Version field from codex, so you can implement version checking with ease in your programs, and request users update if you want them to

There are many reasons we insist that the codex check is included in all programs here but the most important is:
if a program is found to be infected with maleware, or if for some reason we feel it would be dangerous for a program to be used (like if neopets would insti-freeze you) we have the ability to instantly stop it being started.