Posted 13 November 2008 - 03:49 PM

Well I don't think we have them at all if that helps. tongue.gif

#2 Frizzle

Frizzle
  • M'lord

• 16889 posts

Users Awards

Posted 13 November 2008 - 06:01 PM

I studied a bit of them on my US politics course so I'll add a bit of input tomorow when it's not 2am..

#3 redlion

redlion
  • I don't exist!

• 12072 posts

Users Awards

Posted 13 November 2008 - 09:01 PM

Easy.

I'm in favor. They offer a way for special interests to get their message heard. It is unfortunate that most of the time PACs are just lobbies that want to get around the 1000$ limit on corporate contributions to campaigns, but some interests don't have corporations to represent them.

Further, its simple for a candidate to take money from a PAC and then ignore their ideas when they get elected tongue.gif

#4 alybo

alybo
  • 73 posts

Posted 20 November 2008 - 05:37 PM

I think PACs are essential, however I am very opposed. We actually just watched a video on PACs in my Poli Sci class. I'll use in example to where they are a negative aspect of American society:

The McCain Bill -