Photo

Getting started with programming.

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Atonomous

Atonomous
  • 28 posts

Posted 05 April 2010 - 01:37 PM

After many years of being a programmer, I have gained quite a bit of knowledge. As of now, I can emerge myself in any new programming language and become proficient in it within 3 days of using it. I just learned java recently and I find it to be a great higher level language to use for botting and such. If you're interested in learning to program at all, you must understand a bit of why you would want to pick what programming language for what situation.

PHP
The only reason you would ever use the PHP programming language is for web development. I most situations involving the internet, you'll have no choice... this is also not an easy to master programming language. You can't even be proficient in it without learning MySQL and HTML. There are even more things to know, like javascript, if you want to make a really fancy website. I highly recommend this as a starting language to learn, but there are a lot of web developers that just can't grasp the concepts behind C and C++ after learning such a simple way of programming.

C
Not to be confused with C++, C does not have object orientation. Open source applications made in C are much easier to understand and it's choice for open source developers. It is just as powerful as C++. Secretly you do not really need the wrappers for object orientation. C is commonly faster than C++ and also it is normally used only when you have large numbers to crunch. Mathematical computations that really need the resources would be the only thing you would need to go to C for, such as an MMORPG with high end 3D graphics. Downsides include having to compile on every OS you want your program to run on.

C++