Photo

No Experiance

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 neoshaded

neoshaded
  • 26 posts

Posted 05 April 2010 - 08:04 AM

Hey, I'm pretty new to this entire forum, but I guess I was going to ask this question eventually so why not now?

I'm still pretty young (Still in high school actually (UK)) but I made up my mind the first time I sat infront of a computer that I wanted to program. I'm thinking this has to be the best time I can start learning as I'm surrounded by teachers at school willing to help and what-not...

I've looked into it and there's a lot of people AGAINST java and most people say that C/C++ is great to learn, but it isn't all that beginner friendly... I've kind of made my mind up that I want to focus on C but I'm open to others oppinions... The problem is; I don't know where to start!
I'm currently reading guides over the internet but I'd like an actual person just to say 'this is a good area to begin in' or 'I started doing ... first' etc.

Any ideas, help etc would be GREATLY appreciated!

P.S; I do pick up anything to do with technology quite faster than most people, but I know it DEFINATELY won’t be something I can learn over night...

#2 Jiraiya

Jiraiya
  • 521 posts

Posted 05 April 2010 - 08:42 AM

yeah...Im thinking of learning the basics on programming during the summer or maybe now??because I know Ill eventually use it in university and Im interested too..

#3 Jake2

Jake2
  • 1185 posts

Posted 05 April 2010 - 08:45 AM

Use the search tool. There's a thread about this already.

#4 neoshaded

neoshaded
  • 26 posts

Posted 05 April 2010 - 08:51 AM

Oh, I'm sorry, I actually did search it but nothing came up other than things about neopets :sorry:

#5 Atonomous

Atonomous
  • 28 posts

Posted 05 April 2010 - 06:18 PM

Wrote a reasonable post about it today... It might help you a bit.
http://www.neocodex....th-programming/

#6 neoshaded

neoshaded
  • 26 posts

Posted 06 April 2010 - 12:34 AM